#### GILMER INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

#### COUNTY OF UPSHUR

The Board of Trustees of Gilmer Independent School District met in regular session on Monday, May 18, 2015, at 6:00 PM at the Gilmer ISD Administration Building, 500 S. Trinity, Gilmer, Texas.

### **Board members present:**

**New member present:** 

Clayton Tefteller

Gloria King Todd Tefteller Mark Skinner Kenny Southwell Diedra Camp

Jeff Rash, presiding

Also present were Rick Albritton, Judy Moore, administrators and interested citizens

CALL TO ORDER: Mr. Rash at 6:02 PM

**INVOCATION**: Mr. Southwell

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE: Ms. Camp

PUBLIC COMMENTS: Mr. John Melvin Dodd re: election canvass and comments about the Bond issue.

GISD "PRIDE" AWARD: Andrew Koudelka for swimming accomplishments

#### SCHOOL BOARD REORGANIZATION

- a. Statement of Election
- b. Administer Oath of Office
- c. Elect Board officers

The statement of election and oath of office were administered to re-elected trustees Diedra Camp and Kenny Southwell and to newly elected trustee Clayton Tefteller by Judy Moore.

Motion was made by Mr. Skinner and seconded by Mr. Tefteller to keep all Board Officers as is for school year 2015-2016. Motion carried with 7 ayes and no noes.

#### **CONSENT AGENDA ITEMS:**

- A. Minutes of the April 21, 2015 meeting of the Board (correction on agenda from 2014)
- B. Financial and tax collection reports
- C. Quarterly Investment Report
- D. Budget amendments
- E. Canvass May 9, 2015 School Trustee and Bond Election

Motion was made by Mr. Southwell and seconded by Ms. Camp that the Board approve consent agenda items "A through E" by general consent action as recommended. (All item information on file) Motion carried with 7 ayes and no noes.

#### **REGULAR AGENDA ITEMS:**

**SECOND AND FINAL READING ON TASB BOARD POLICY ON CRISIS LEAVE (DEC Local):** Motion was made by Mrs. King and seconded by Mr. Skinner that the Board approve TASB Board Policy DEC (Local) on second and final reading. Motion carried with 7 ayes and no noes. (On file)

#### STAFFING REQUIREMENTS FOR SCHOOL YEAR 2014-2015 and 2015-2016

**EXECUTIVE SESSION (CLOSED)**: The Board of Trustees entered Executive Session (Closed) according to TEC 551.074 on Monday, May 18, 2015, at 6:20 p.m. Executive Session (Closed) ended at 7:07 p.m., May 18, 2015 for consideration of the following:

Consider personnel matters (appointments, leaves, reassignments, resignations, retirements, termination of probationary contracts, contract extensions)

Consider administrative, professional support, term and probationary professional contract recommendations for 2015-2016

Consider High School and Intermediate principal recommendations

#### **ACTION FOLLOWING CLOSED SESSION:**

Jeff Rash, Board President

Motion was made by Mrs. King and seconded by Mr. Skinner to approve the recommendation of Brian Bowman as High School principal for the 2015-2017 school years as recommended. Motion carried with 7 ayes and no noes.

Motion was made by Ms. Camp and seconded by Mr. Southwell to approve the recommendation of Kim Kemp as Intermediate School principal for the 2015-2017 school years as recommended. Motion carried with 7 ayes and no noes.

Motion was made by Mr. Skinner and seconded by Mrs. Camp to employ new teachers and assistant principals for the 2015-2016 school year as recommended by the superintendent and accept resignations as listed. Motion carried with 7 ayes and no noes. Contracts approved and resignations are attached.

Motion was made by Mrs. King and seconded by Mr. Tefteller that the Board offer probationary contracts to the following persons for school year 2015-2016: Staci Barton, Kristin Coleman, Angela Harrison, Kayla Souder, Nancy Haws, Virginia Rodriguez and Wanda Threadgill, Mike Bradshaw and Karen Frederick. Motion carried with 7 ayes and no noes.

Motion was made by Mr. Southwell and seconded by Mr. Skinner to accept the recommendation to terminate the probationary contract at the end of the contract term in the best interest of the district according to the superintendent's recommendation of employees as listed: Pamela Vallance, Doni Barrett, Joshlyn Marsh and Carol Brock. Motion carried with 7 ayes and no noes.

Gloria King, Secretary

7:15 p.m. Motion carried with 7 ayes and no	noes.	
$\mathrm{R_{v}}\cdot$	By:	

**ADJOURNMENT**: Motion was made by Mr. Skinner and seconded by Mrs. King to adjourn the meeting at

# PERSONNEL –MAY 18, 2015

## **RECOMMENDATIONS for 2015-2016:**

Campus	Applicant
HS	Bowman, Brian
INT	Kemp, Kim
ELEM	Brandon Thurston
ELEM	Teri Lawson
HS	Jacki Kyle
HS	Ryan Pate
HS	Brad Britton
HS	Lauren Murry
ELEM	Brittney Jacobs
ELEM	Wesley Godsy
ELEM	Shannon Britton
	Michelle Johnson
	Nancy Tevebaugh
	Delinda Wall

RESIGNATIONS:	Lonnie Henry (Elem/coach)	Marianne McBride (Elem)
Sherry Davis (Elem)	Daphne Bell (HS)	Sylvia Cummings (Elem)
Randall Canady (Elem/coach)	Ruben Gonzales (HS)	Jeremy Mitchell (JH)
Katie Smith (Elem)	Candace Leatherbury (HS)	Ginger Gee (Elem)
Bradley Armendariz (Int)	Sunshine Armendariz (Int)	Kristy Davis (Elem)